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New Site Just Launched!

Welcome

We’ve just launched this new website and we’re glad to welcome you as one of our very first visitors.

We need your help. If you happen to spot something that doesn’t look quite right or if you come across a broken link or the like, would you kindly help us by
letting us know and we’ll sort it out pronto.

Thank you for visiting and welcome to SpeedPPC.

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Customers Speak – Part 1

The SpeedPPC community is made up of people from different walks of life, living in different parts of the world, who do a variety of different things online. Amongst all the differences the commonality is a great love for SpeedPPC. This is because it’s changed what was once a boring process called ‘normal PPC campaign building’ forever!

It’s great to hear from our end users who work the coal face mining for increased profits using our suite of tools.

As you read this series you’ll gain insight regarding the ins and outs of how and why they use SpeedPPC.

In part one Scott Clark who manages several million dollars in PPC spend says he couldn’t do without productivity tools like SpeedPPC. This is a great read for those of you who are dealing in big dollars and need to rely on the advanced functionality that SpeedPPC also provides. Enjoy!

“I am a PPC turnaround artist. The tools in my bag include SpeedPPC, and I cannot even remember how I managed large campaigns without it. I use it in three main ways:

First is in the creation of long-tail keyword sets. These take control away from Google and put it back in my clients’ court. We take the time to run through server logs, keyword research tools, and our own experience with search behaviors and build a sort of root phrase spreadsheet. In the end, the keyword list is quite long, but now a controlled variable upon which we can build ad text, landing page, and analytics strategy.

The second way we use SpeedPPC is to improve use of dynamic keyword insertion. DKI done properly is not always easy – but has a dramatic improvement on clickthrough rates (CTR) if you get it right. Allowing Google to do DKI on ads with anything but exact match can be dangerous and produce unwanted ad text. SpeedPPC makes it easy to quickly set up all match types and still keep control over the ad text output.

The third and final use for SpeedPPC is in communication with landing pages. By using page parameters and some clever parsing we can take in long-tail campaigns and produce highly optimized landing page experiences for searchers without having unwanted or embarrassing text inserted on the landing page.

Results

For campaigns where I took over management for a new client, improvements in clickthrough rates of 300-400% conversion rate improvements of 50%-100% on lead generation campaigns are definitely doable in as little as 2 months while reducing lead costs by as much as half.

For many B2B companies, this adds up to tens of thousands of dollars per month saved and a busy sales staff! Once these clients see what is possible in tweaking ad text and landing pages, lots of gears start turning in their heads about promotional and cross-sell techniques.

For regional PPC (like franchise sales) I use SpeedPPC to build campaigns to catch “local qualifiers” in search and transfer city or state information to the ad text and landing pages helps us to account for the “other half” of geotargeted campaigns we cannot capture using the search engines’ targeting tools.

So many clients are letting Google do the matching for them, not using DKI, and sending searchers to generic landing pages. These techniques hurt quality score, reduce click through rate, and drop conversion rates even when the client thinks they have a well organized Google Adwords campaign.

Favorite Features

  • Integration with Google Adwords offline Editor.
  • Ability to “copy” ads, which promotes split testing.
  • Ability to do “two levels” of dynamic keyword insertion
  • Ability to easily tweak destination URL parameters.

SpeedPPC’s value

I would consider it the second most important tool in my PPC toolbox, right after Google Adwords’ offline editor. It has paid for itself dozens of times over.

Why I wouldn’t attempt PPC marketing without it

I manage several million dollars in PPC spend all by myself. I could not do that without having productivity tools like this.

I also specialize in highly competitive markets (CPC as high as $28) like franchise lead generation, credit card sales, and business finance. More often than not, I am called to take over campaigns managed by others who have not achieved the results the client hoped for. My forte is turning these campaigns around and SpeedPPC is very important in that regard.”

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Customers Speak – Part 2

People often say that PPC is too expensive. Well, for some it’s true.

Many guzzle through their ad budget like there’s no tomorrow with little, if any return.

But a little applied knowledge can make a major difference.

In part two of this series, Blase Des Marais tells in his own words how he built a SpeedPPC campaign for a client that generated thousands of dollars in sales for less than $40 with Google Adwords.

Sounds too good to be true? You be the judge.

This Stuff Really Works!” That’s what a client of mine said 24 hours after I launched his adwords campaign using Speed PPC.

Here’s the story, I do any number of things for small business clients. One of my clients wanted to use Adwords.

I know enough to get by, but I don’t do a lot of Adwords advertising and I have never done it for a client. I always felt it was to risky spending their money on something that I wasn’t really good at.

Well this client was asking for a massive amount of work to be done and he insisted that I was going to do it for him.

He had almost 1000 part numbers from 18 different manufactures that he wanted to list in Adwords. I knew right away this wasn’t a job I wanted to do by hand.

He also wanted the visitor to be at his sales page for the exact product he was searching for in two clicks.

Which makes sense, but man that’s a lot of work I thought.

I had read about Speed PPC before and I thought it would be perfect. I also priced the work for this client to include my cost for Speed PPC.

I read the manual and started playing with it. Once I started messing around I could see the power, potential and the huge amount of time I was going to save. It was pretty straightforward. I had a few questions and the team always responded back with an answer on the Speed PPC forum very quickly.

I built a landing page using some very simple PHP, which was well explained in the training. Loaded up Speed PPC and put everything on Google adwords. Since then I have built him even more targeted landing pages using the same simply PHP code.

With in 24 hours the client was on the phone at 7:00 am! He was so excited all he could say was, “This Stuff Really Works!” He had already gotten two orders from his store.

He now has 18 campaigns, 1000 keywords, 2000 ad groups, 4000 ads, and 18 landing pages for his product line. He is paying .07 per click because his quality score is very high.

This client has sold thousands of dollars worth of product and has paid Google less than $40!

He’s a happy guy and so am I, plus my confidence in using Adwords has gone way up thanks to Speed PPC and the team.”

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Customers Speak – Part 3

For those of you who manage PPC campaigns for clients you’re probably already aware of how difficult it can be to create improvements and increased profitability in already successful campaigns.

Regardless, most clients demand it… More profits for less and they’re always on the outlook for someone who can deliver.

In this interesting read you’ll discover how Jamie achieved these aims fairly effortlessly as he shares some great ideas that may be of assistance to you.

“Since starting with SpeedPPC 6 months ago my business has changed dramatically. I have now made this a permanent part of any new campaign’s setup process meaning that I can now offer my clients more bang for their buck with more targeted and qualified campaigns, ad groups and advertisements. This has also allowed me to start charging more money for the setup of campaigns due to the improvements in the service I can offer without spending much more time implementing this.

My goals for using SpeedPPC were quite simple:

  • Reduce the amount of time spent setting up campaigns
  • Improve clients accounts
  • Increase my profits
  • Have more time to provide great customer service to my clients.

I feel that I have now achieved all of these goals and much quicker than I ever thought that I would. I genuinely feel that not only have I benefited from using this software but so have my clients which makes for a very successful-long term relationship.

For my existing clients I have been able to wow them with the improved results that SpeedPPC has produced. For example, I used it for a client of mine and ended up creating over 200 new ad groups within a matter of minutes. The CTR increased from 1.5% to over 3% in the first day while the cost per click fell by over 20%. It was very pleasing to see how happy the clients were with this increased performance. As many agencies probably know AdWords can be hard to continue to grow and improve once a client has been with you for a while.

Another client of mine had a retail website that sold 100’s of different products. Normally I would have had to create individual campaigns and ad groups manually taking me days. Using SpeedPPC I was able to setup this account in only a few hours which saved me a lot of stress and reduced my workload quite significantly (not to mention increasing my profits for the setup of that account too!) This account is now enjoying a great quality score with high CTR’s and lower than average CPC’s and I expect that client to stick with me for a long time.

Since that day when I purchased SpeedPPC I have never looked back and don’t think that I will ever go back to the ‘old’ way of using Google AdWords. I mean why would I when me and my clients are happier than ever.”

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Looking for champagne results on a beer budget?

This is a great way to drive massive, highly relevant PPC traffic without the normal associated price tag.

When the adwords system was first introduced back in 2000, pay per click (PPC) marketing was in its infancy.

This meant that it didn’t require a big budget or too much know how or creativity to enjoy good ROI.

Back then you could bid on generic keywords such as "bicycle", "notebook" or "credit card" and with a simple ad and landing page, good profits would start to flow.

Today, a decade later, the industry has come of age and with this growth has come the growth of cost per click.

Nowadays, competitive keywords can be costly. Check out the average Adwords CPC on these phrases:

school loan consolidation $69.16
college loan consolidation $68.35
car insurance quotes $66.88
school consolidation $66.29
auto insurance quotes $65.90

Unfortunately, these figures came from 2008 and like inflation, they aren’t coming down.

Some New York professionals have ascended into the 3 figure click cost category. Hey, take it easy on your click trigger finger if you’re looking for a lawyer in New York! Well, I guess they can afford it.

Let’s have a look at some figures from today. We’ll assume that you’re spying out the often lucrative credit card offerings market.

1. "Credit Card"

OK, $11.86 ain’t too bad. But if you’re tight on nickel or your conversion rate and/or profit ratio isn’t out of this world, it probably wouldn’t pay to gamble here.

But this is what many newbies do. They start bidding on the most common and expensive keywords and wonder why their ads won’t show up. Frustrated, they boost their bid price and blow their budget without any return. Perhaps you’ve heard a few of those “Adwords chews you up and spits you out!” rumors floating around the traps?

Let’s try and get into something a little less savage on the wallet. We want to try and make money, not throw it away!

How about, “credit card new york”?

2. Credit Cards New York

Hmmmmm $7.62. Well, at least it’s heading in the right direction.

With a little bit of sniffing around and a little bit of digging, look what we found today:

3. Low

You little beauty! Please forgive our unbridled enthusiasm but at 59 cents a click we can pull 100 times the traffic for the same 100 bucks that would have gotten us 10 visits bidding on "credit card". It’s 10 visits or 1000…. Your call.

You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to realize there’s something here but whilst these gems exist, they can be a little hard to find.

This is where a tool like SpeedPPC can help. “Oh no, this is a sales pitch after all” I hear you groaning. Hang on, there’s great value here. You can do this manually… If you’ve got a few free months to spare.

What’s wrong with this picture? The thing with these keywords is that they are low in cost but also low in search volume. As in the pic above, these guys pulled approximately 58140 searches in the USA during December 2009.

Now let’s round them off by supposing that they each average 100 searches a month. Can you handle that? We’ll also assume a CTR of 5% (quite possible with relevant ad text in this often forsaken environment).

To get your 10,000 visits for just $142.86 (based on your 7 cent CPC average), you will need… Hang on, we’ll need the iphone to figure this out….

That’s…

5 clicks a month per ad so …

10,000 divided by 5% = 2000.

What’s that? 2000 ads? This means setting up 2000 bid prices with different match types, creating thousands of unique ads that mirror the keywords used by the user and let us not forget, 2000 landing pages parroting the users search terms in the page title, meta tags, keywords and body content. That’s best practice. Not much fun for 5 clicks a month hey?

By the way, it’s been determined that relevant, descriptive phrases tend to convert better than the general, generic phrases do.

When you think about it, a home recording studio buff searching for a new set of speakers would more likely search “yamaha ns-10 studio monitors” than “stereo speakers”. Why? Not because they sound good, they sound lousy but because they’re an industry standard studio monitor.

A relevant PPC ad is going to appeal to his or her click finger before ‘loud speaker‘ ever could. This is probably why descriptive, relevant ads tend to pull better CTRs.

 

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With our recent focus on effective keyword research, Fabian Lim, a top internet marketing coach has added to the pot in this training-focused webinar.

He discusses both PPC and SEO methods for keyword research, with very practical tips to help you research the right keywords for profit, while spending less of your precious time digging them out!

Now you can download the webinar here (90MB) or watch the webinar recording below:

Fabian’s kindly given us a copy of his slides that he used during the presentation as well. You can download those here.

*Special Offer – Keyword Research Pro

Fabian Lim has also offered a special discount for SpeedPPC members – you’ll save $20 off the regular price of $97 (SpeedPPC-ers just pay $77).

  • Just enter coupon code: ’speedppc’ (without apostrophes)
  • This is a one-time payment (not a subscription product)
  • Free upgrades for life
  • Free membership to the Keyword Research Pro community

Fabian’s also giving the special bonus below to SpeedPPC members, so to make sure he’ll know who you are, clear your cookies and order through this link.

Additional Bonus for SpeedPPC Members

Fabian Lim will conduct a 1 hour specialized training webinar for SpeedPPC members. As well as advanced training, Fabian will answer any questions you have on keyword research, SEO or PPC. (real value $1,000 USD)

Check out Keyword Research Pro here

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In my April training for SpeedPPC members, I showed you how to diagnose whether your PPC campaign had low ad impressions and what steps to take. Because if you’re marketing a potentially profitable offer, then I want you to be able to reach past the obstacles and grab those profits!

Following the video training, I got a couple of comic requests for the next training on “How to know when to give up on your PPC Campaign”!

Only I got to thinking, this is a serious question for any affiliate marketer – it was just comically phrased.

And if you were to put all the effort in to rescue a campaign that frustratingly couldn’t be saved, how discouraging is it when it comes to starting your next campaign? What if it’s PPC groundhog day?

Most of what I talked about in that training video was based on working with the research you’d already done (I hope), and going over the results.

Now I’d like to go back a giant step and take you through an example of how you could conduct that initial research, before you even sniff at AdWords, so that you’re not plagued with doubts down the track, thinking did I pick a dud and when should I throw in the towel and try my luck with another product?

My main aim is that you finish reading this article and know:

How to get the information you need to make money from a product, in advance of you starting your PPC campaigns, and be confident knowing that you’ve given yourself the best possible shot of reaping profits from the offer.

To achieve this, I’ll be demonstrating a 4-step combination and in the final step I’ll be zeroing in on 5 detailed methods to carve out a competitive advantage in any niche:

  • Step 1 – Find a Niche with Google Insights
  • Step 2 – Confirm your Niche with Real Intelligence
  • Step 3 – Source an Affiliate Network & Product
  • Step 4 – Identifying Opportunities & Advantages with PPC Bully 2.0
    • Method 1: Reveal competitors’ top ads and keywords for a particular offer
    • Method 2: Find all ads (on any offer) for your chosen keywords
    • Method 3: Expose all the ads and keywords for one specific advertiser
    • Method 4: Cross Advertiser Research – Discover all offers marketed by a successful affiliate advertiser
    • Method 5: Cross Network Searching – Identify similar successful offers on other networks

This is a real example with plenty of screenshots, so feel free to follow it through yourself. Let’s get started.

Step 1 – Find a Niche with Google Insights

Normally you do need a starting point and if you’ve got a particular field that interests you, then great! It helps to work with an offer you’re actively interested in.

I’m going to start from the vaguest possible point here and just open Google Insights. It’s freely available – just Google it :)

The blurb pretty much describes it – “See what the world is searching for”.


Setting your filter from the home page of Google Insights.

Now I want to see the latest trending so I’ve chosen 2009, and then I decided to browse the categories to see what was of interest to me. I settled on Lifestyles. I didn’t enter any keywords, I wasn’t sure what to enter at this stage and I wanted to see what it brought back for me.


View the top searches and rising searches for a category in Google Insights.

At the top of the Top Searchers list we see “baby”. Having two close friends about to produce a couple of these, I decided to follow through on this and I clicked on the number 1 “Baby” search.

This is what I got and I’ll draw your attention to the rising searches on the right hand side. Baby names 2009 is leading way out front and it’s risen a whopping 1600%. Aside from that, there are also 3 rising searches for baby registries.

I’m still not sure how at the moment, but I am thinking how can I get in on this baby boom?


Drilling down further into the Top Searches.

When I drill down further by clicking on “baby names 2009″, I see the top searches.


Drilling down further into the Rising Searches.

There are plenty of rising searches with strong growth. I drill down further into one of the baby registry searches and I see again further evidence of rising growth.


Top searches related to “baby registry”.

From Google Insights I can also see the regions of growth which gives me a great starting list of countries I can market to (assuming the merchant I decide to promote supplies to these areas). You can also click the “City” link on the top right to view by city for even more precise targeting.


Find out the best regions to target in Google Insights.

Although I don’t know which affiliate product I’m going to promote yet, this is fine. I’ve got a great base of evidence to start shopping around for the best product for me to promote. I’ve found a field where there are plenty of prospective customers, growth and demand – in a variety of countries.

I usually find this is the best order to go about finding a product, rather than settling on a product, without any research, then trying to find the market (if any exists).

I’m going to take “baby names” and plug it into an intelligence tool so I can find out possible ways I can work with it. Here goes…

Step 2 – Confirm your Niche with Real Intelligence

I’m now at the stage where I want more evidence to support what I’ve found in Google Insights. For this, I need up-to-date intelligence from the coal face.

For this demonstration I’m using PPC Bully 2.0, a competitive intelligence or “spy tool” that gives me insider knowledge that I can use to pull the covers off competitor campaigns and make sure that I launch the best possible marketing campaign I can.

I begin by entering “baby names” as a keyword search into PPC Bully 2.


Enter the Top Search from Google Insights into PPC Bully 2.

Immediately, my eyes are drawn to baby names with over 3 million searches. Plenty of volume, plenty of potential profit. Let’s click further!


See the top PPC ads for the Top Search from Google Insights.

Here I can now see the top 6 ads based on PPC Bully’s PI or profitability indicator which basically tells me how successful an ad has been. The way PPC Bully rates the PI is based on the number of days and the percentage the ad was seen, against how many days since it was last seen. While nothing is 100%, this is a great indication for me since an affiliate ad that’s shown for a long period of time in a high position is likely to be a successful one.

So for example, PPC Bully is telling me the first ad has been shown 98 times out of 98 and it’s been shown right until the present time.

Also the CPCs are only $0.36 which is very reasonable.

Now that I’ve done some initial research, I want to take a peek at what affiliate products I can fit to this market.

Step 3 – Source an Affiliate Network & Product

Unfortunately, when I looked at ClickBank and Commission Junction (CJ), there weren’t any products specifically on “baby names” that I could promote.

Another consideration I had was that the long term potential of baby names for recurring income wasn’t great. It occurred to me that promoting baby products where you could have continual and repeat customers would be a better source of constant income in the long run. I could still take advantage of baby names and baby registry searches since people searching for these terms would be in the same market for baby products – thinking laterally and all….

So I searched in ClickBank under “baby”, but every search result had gravity in single figures and it put me off a bit. If not a lot of affiliates are making sales on these products, they’re not ventures I want to risk on a limited budget.

I then went to Commission Junction and this was very positive. Check it out.


Search results from “baby” in Commission Junction.

The fourth listing for Land of Nod looks fantastic, both the 3 month and 7 day earnings per click bode well for profitable long-term campaigns.


Commission Junction information page for The Land of Nod.

I’m happy with the finer details they’ve provided above and the web site itself is attractive and follows Google quality guidelines as you can see below.


Checking out The Land of Nod web site.

So now I want to see what other advertisers are doing to promote Land of Nod and what keywords they are having success with.

Step 4 – Identifying Opportunities & Advantages with PPC Bully

Method 1 – Reveal competitors’ top ads and keywords for a particular offer

I go back to PPC Bully 2 and I enter “landofnod” in the search box and search under destination URLs.


Searching PPC Bully for destination URLs containing “landofnod”.

These are my first few results listings that PPC Bully returns. I’ve again filtered it by greater than a 28 profitability indicator, because I want to see ads that have at least been running successfully for at least a month.


Land of Nod pay per click ads with a Profitability Indicator (PI) greater than 28 from PPC Bully.

This is great stuff!

Here I’m seeing examples of ads that have:

  1. High profitability indicators (greater than 28 so they’ve been advertised for at least a month)
  2. Been shown on a high percentage of searches – see the found/searched column at the end
  3. Last been seen on 30th May which means they are still running (at the time I wrote this)
  4. Achieved relatively high ad positions for the most part – 192 total ads ranged from ad positions 1-10, so the majority are appearing on the first search results page of Google
  5. Specific keywords and long tail search terms that I can capitalize on further for better quality score and placement

Scrolling down the list, it becomes clear that the longer tail search terms still have plenty of searches, but at a lower bid cost. In this screen, PPC Bully also shows me what the going rate is on clicks for these ads and keywords.

I know that if I can target an ad at each keyword and product, I’ll have a huge advantage over anyone else currently. There are very few ads that are precisely targeted back to the keywords.

This is plenty to get me off to a great start on composing my PPC campaigns.

Before I export the results to CSV, I’m going to filter the list down further to pick out the very best ads.


PPC Bully filters based on PI, Search Volume, % Found, Affiliate.

So above you can see, I’ve kept my minimum profitability indicator at 28, then I’ve added:

  1. Search volume of greater than 500 searchers per month. You can set this higher if you wish. There is the possibility that Google may de-activate ads with lower search volumes, however I’ve also seen some uncommon searches yield great conversions.
  2. I’m also going to be brave and filter the ads that have been presented over 90% of the searches, so I’m just seeing the best of the best.

I end up with a list of 167 ads and keywords that I can export directly from PPC Bully and start working with in Excel.

Method 2 – Find all ads across offers for your chosen keywords

Another way I can research my campaign further within PPC Bully is to drill down into particular keywords.

So far, I’ve just looked at other Land of Nod ads, but I also want to check out the other ads that are being shown for the top keywords.

For example, one of the most highly searched phrases was “maxi-cosi”.


Maxi-Cosi ad/keyword example with search volume over 1m and PPC Bully PI of 44.

To see other advertisers for this search term, I’ll click on the keyword link which then expands to the page below.


Maxi-Cosi PPC ads listed from highest to lowest PI in PPC Bully.

I then clicked on profitability indicator to sort the ads from best to worst in PPC Bully.

I noticed something very interesting. When I sorted by ad position, the ads ranked at number 1 and 2 weren’t shown very often at all. Their performance was very inconsistent.

If I sorted the list by the ads that were shown consistently, the ad ranking wasn’t as high.

My deduction from this would be that the highest ranking ads aren’t necessarily the most profitable. So I’d want to experiment with my ad positions as well to achieve the most profitable space.

This list of top ads for Maxi-Cosi is also another confirmation for me that Land of Nod is a good choice to promote.

I’m going to export these from PPC Bully so I’ve got more ad copy to play with, because I don’t want to copy the existing Land of Nod ads word for word. I’ll use them as a base and then I want to do better.

Method 3 – Find all the ads and keywords for a particular advertiser

The other way I can turn my data a different angle in PPC Bully is to drill down further on a particular advertiser, and check out all their ads and keywords.

The third listing above for Baby Earth I happened to notice in my previous Commission Junction shortlist, so I’m going to check out the ads and keywords that are working well for Baby Earth.

So I search for Baby Earth in PPC Bully under destination URLs.


PPC Bully search results of PPC ads with Baby Earth in the destination URL.

This has given me some valuable new information.

Some of these long tail search terms including brand names are an average cost per click of $0.05.

This is dramatically less (in certain cases a few dollars) than some of the same brand names on their own, and of course it’s far more targeted, so guess what I’m going to be bidding on!

I can also single out a particular ad and ask PPC Bully to show me all the keywords associated with this ad.


Use PPC Bully to uncover all the keywords an advertiser is bidding on for a particular ad.

So here I have a list of 45 keywords that the advertiser is bidding on, and in response showing the “Maclaren Strollers” ad.

I’m seeing opportunity straight away here. I know I can target my ads to each product automatically using SpeedPPC. In fact, I’m already seeing my seed keywords “maclaren” and “mclaren” paired with an expansion list containing xt, triumph, quest, etc.

If you were searching for a “Maclaren XT Techno”, which ad would you be more likely to follow – one headlined “Maclaren Strollers” or “Maclaren XT Techno”? The more specific you can be to the searcher’s query, the better.

You see this type of research is not just about finding opportunities, it’s about identifying advantages. Not just what your competitors are doing well, but how you can do it better.

I’ll be exporting these ads and keywords for Baby Earth as well so I can build a complete campaign that’s guided by the “best of” from the top advertisers in my niche.

In addition, I can also click on the information button next to any ad in PPC Bully to open up specific ad information.


View specific ad information for any ad in PPC Bully.

And this will lead me onto my next method.

Method 4: Cross Advertiser Research – Find all offers marketed by a successful affiliate advertiser

Continued from the above screenshot, I now have the affiliate URL of a successful advertiser in the baby products niche.

I bet they’re successful in other niches as well.

What I did next was plug their domain back into PPC Bully using a destination URL search. So basically, bring me back everything (not just in baby stuff) that this affiliate is promoting.


Enter the competitors’ domain into the destination URL of PPC Bully.


PPC Bully returns all the other offers this affiliate is promoting.

Look what I got back. Very diverse and looking extremely profitable! The profitability indicators are high, each ad is shown regularly and up to the minute with fairly low bid costs. Obviously I’m seeing the blueprint of a highly successful affiliate.

This is one blueprint you’d be silly not to follow, PPC Bully has practically handed it to you on a silver platter. By searching on the domain of a successful advertiser, you can often find goldmines in other niches that you can also promote successfully.

Method 5: Cross Network Searching – Identify similar successful offers on other networks

Now on a similar vein, let’s say I want to look at other offers to market baby products. Perhaps I can look at doing a comparison or review page that offers visitors the best deal through multiple merchants.

I can then search for “baby products” in PPC Bully 2 under a keyword search. PPC Bully has access to 70 networks at this stage, so I can find other profitable opportunities across networks.


PPC Bully has over70 affiliate networks included so you can find similar offers.

One of the most popular searches was for “Avent Baby Products” so I’ve pulled up the ad creative for these search terms. When I look at the Affiliate Networks, I see there are several opportunities with Amazon, Azoogle, Commission Junction, LinkShare and Target.

I decide since I’m already registered and about to market one Commission Junction product (or a few thanks to the affiliate in method 4), I’ll choose CJ and filter the list. That gives me one listing for www.baby-wise.com.


A similar product that’s worth investigating on PPC Bully.

Now, I’m not that impressed by the stats on this one, but I’m going to dig deeper in PPC Bully. This is one that most people would look at and move on, and sometimes there’s a good reason for this. Other times it’s a great opportunity for you so don’t be scared to put the magnifying glass to it. Because I already know this niche is profitable, I’m willing to investigate further because I already have strong evidence that there’s opportunity here.

PPC Bully has various checks that you can apply to see how the ad has performed over time and what the ad’s distribution is. I’m going to use these to see if I can come up with a good diagnosis on why this ad/advertiser is not successful, given the popularity of the search term. More importantly, I want to see if I can turn it into a winner with some good “intel”.

In the first graph, I can see that the ad has had a steady ranking around position 4 which is promising. On the top left of the chart, you can see options to view the ads position over 1 week, 1 month, 3 months, 6 month and all time. This is also great if you want to view the seasonality of a particular offer for a long-term marketing plan.

The green dots are when the ad was shown and the red on the bottom of the graph is when the ad was not shown when it could’ve been. As you can see, there were a lot of missed opportunities over the past month.


See an ad’s position over time in PPC Bully “Checks”.

I’m now going to look at the ads distribution over each day of the week.


View PPC Bully charts of the ads distribution per day.

Well, this is interesting. Weekends are definitely peak time with the Monday and Friday on either side also being busy. PPC Bully is showing me that mid week appears to be a slight lull. This is going to help me focus my budget. I definitely want to take advantage of the additional searches on weekends. I’m also going to start my campaign on the weekend to try and get some high CTRs first up to help with Quality Score.

Next let’s look at the hours. Wow!


Similarly, view PPC Bully charts of the ads distribution down to the hour.

This is mind boggling. This ad is only showing from midnight and lasting up until about 7:30am. Now, this could possibly mean that this is when the mums and prospective mums are up shopping, but I doubt it. Given the trend of the bars and the fact that it peters down to nothing for the rest of the day, I’m betting they are using up their budget early and the ad is not being shown for the majority of the day, hence why the found/searched ration was so low on PPC Bully.

Their ad could be perfectly profitable, if only it was shown! I feel a bit sorry for this advertiser. If they had PPC Bully, they could see where they’re going wrong. As it stands, they’ll possibly give up never knowing why it didn’t work for them.

That’s another great thing about competitive intelligence tools like PPC Bully, you can use it to check on your own marketing and see how you stack up to the competition.

Now, on that note, I’d just like to show you an example of healthy distribution on a PPC Bully graph.


An example of good ad distribution per hour in PPC Bully Checks.

I’m showing you this as well because this is what you can use to plan your ad scheduling on Google AdWords. Say I saw a huge spike from 10:00pm to midnight. Then I might choose to bid more during those times, at the very least I’d want to make sure my budget lasted until the end of the day and I had enough left to take advantage of the peak.

So there are two lessons in this method:

  1. Use the main keyword/s and search across affiliate networks to identify other possible opportunities, particularly if you are using bridge pages with comparisons or reviews
  2. Be sure to use the “Checks” link in PPC Bully to check on your own progress, as well as competitors. This will help you identify where you can beat your competitors, and when!

Combined Knowledge from Google Insights and PPC Bully

Thanks for staying with me this far! As you’ve seen, you can use great tools to maximum advantage by not just finding potential opportunities, but establishing your advantages so you can do it better, and bring in a heap of money while you’re at it (without wasting so much on trial and error).

After researching potential products in both Google Insights and PPC Bully 2.0, we now know:

  • How to uncover profitable niches using Google Insights
  • How to find the top searches and rising search terms within our niche
  • How to use intelligence such as PPC Bully to confirm the potential of your niche
  • When and how to source an affiliate network and product
  • Which competitors’ ads are profitable for a particular offer or keyword
  • What keywords competitors are using to draw people to their ads
  • What other offers can be marketed using those same profitable keywords
  • The going rate or average CPCs on those keywords
  • Which affiliate network those products are on
  • How to identify similar successful offers on other networks
  • The seasonal trend on a particular affiliate offer
  • What are the best times to schedule your ads
  • What global regions and cities you should target your ads to
  • How to find another affiliate’s blueprint to lead you onto other profitable offers

This is a truckload of knowledge to have before you even launch your PPC campaigns! If you’re armed with this intel beforehand, you can be confident in your marketing and you won’t be as tempted to give up just short of the profit line.

I hope this has given you helpful, practical information you can use to find and research money-making offers from the get go.

PPC Bully 2 will be released on 9th June 2009 at 12:00pm Eastern Time and we have a fantastic training bonus pack available below.

You can watch the video and check out PPC Bully for yourself here.

UPDATE: The difference in method between affiliate marketers and non-affiliate marketers

I’ve added this to the PPC Bully case study in response to queries on how you’d use a spy tool if you weren’t affiliate marketing; or if you were only affiliate marketing.

There is common information to PPC campaigns that you’d want to dig out, regardless of your purpose and that’s usually the keywords and ads that your competitors are using.

As either an affiliate or non-affiliate, you always want to:

  • Understand the environment you’ll be competing in
  • See what keywords (and their traffic) are working for the competition
  • View the top ads (and average CPCs) that your competitors are using to get their profits
  • Find out when the best time is to place your ads in front of your market
  • Use all of the above to bring in your own profits

For non-affiliate marketers:

The best way to find this out is to search PPC Bully 2.0 using:

  1. A keyword search eg. “ppc bully”- enter main keywords and then drill down further from there to find more
  2. Leverage that search by seeing who the competition is for those keywords, then clicking deeper into their details to see what other keywords and ads they are using (and most importantly how those are performing)
  3. If you have a particular competitor in mind – then try a URL search, eg. Domain.com to view the competitors activity including keywords, ads, when those ads are being shown and seasonal trending
  4. Don’t forget to enter this competitors name as a keyword search as well to find other keywords and ads that their other competitors are bidding on

For affiliate marketers:

Steps 1- 4 steps above remain the same. Then to find other affiliates’ strategies, you can:

  1. Use the destination URL search to find a specific affiliate ID
  2. Combine the affiliate ID with “tid” or “sid” and other common tracking ID strings to find the more experienced affiliates using tracking Ids, this is often a good filter to find choice data
  3. Search direct linking ads on a specific affiliate network through the destination URL, eg. “network.com” or just “network”
  4. Use the keyword search with a particular offer to find other advertisers and networks to get a great cross-section of information

As you can see, there are some similarities and differences in how to use the same tool for a different purpose. I’ll be covering this in greater detail in the bonus training video that you’ll receive when you order through our link.

See everything included in the full training bonus pack below.


PPC BULLY 2.0 – COMPLETE *TRAINING* BONUS PACK

Following on from the demonstration above, I’ve based our bonus gifts to you on further training to show you how to really use your PPC Affiliate marketing tools in conjunction with each other (so all your horses are pulling in the same direction). You’ll be able to get the maximum leverage out of PPC Bully, the ClickBank Mining tool, SpeedPPC Affiliate Pro and see some serious return on your investment.

This bonus pack is exclusive to people who order through our link, so to obtain these bonuses, simply order through our affiliate link here.

Don’t forget to clear your cookies before you order otherwise we won’t get the credit and won’t be able to give you these important bonuses.

Here is a summary of the PPC Bully 2.0 bonuses:

BONUS 1: Take advanced niche finding even further with 12 months access to our private Clickbank Mining tool. With tens of thousands of ClickBank products on offer, the ClickBank Miner is a no-fuss tool that will help you extract the profitable offers simply and easily. This is the perfect complement to PPC Bully and gives you an added advantage over other PPC Bully members.

BONUS 2: Free SpeedPPC Affiliate Pro license to create competitive, profitable campaigns with the underground intelligence you’ve gathered from PPC Bully 2.0. The best way to utilize the information from PPC Bully is to create quality PPC campaigns in a matter of minutes with SpeedPPC. This is $497 worth of real value.

BONUS 3: Exclusive Bonus video demonstrating how to leverage all of the above tools so you can get the maximum result out of each one. If you’ve seen my other training videos then you know I try to give you as much information as I possibly can. This video is all about helping you to get the most profit by teaching you to use the tools at your disposal effectively (and better than you might’ve otherwise).

All you need to do is clear your cookies, and then click the link below immediately before purchasing. Then just forward your receipt to reena (AT) speedppc.com to claim these bonuses.

CLICK HERE TO ORDER PPC BULLY 2.0 AND GET THESE BONUSES

Comments 20

This is a follow on from an earlier blog post I wrote about the new user interface on Google AdWords.

ROI Revolution’s CEO, Timothy Seward and ROI Revolution Account Manager, Page Christenbury presented a fantastic webinar on the Google AdWords New User Interface webinar.

If you missed out on the complimentary webinar or would like to re-cap on some of the points Timothy and Page covered, then you can download the recorded webinar here.

Watch and learn how you can use the top 3 new features to stay ahead of your competition, save time poring over boring reports and optimizing your account, so you can rake in higher profits from your pay per click marketing.

By the end of the webinar, you’ll know how the AdWords new user interface will help you cut down your wasted PPC spend (and time), PLUS discover new and profitable keywords and placements to grow your income from PPC marketing.


Watch “Getting up to Speed with the New Google Adwords User Interface” now

OR
Download “Getting up to Speed with the New Google Adwords User Interface” now
(File Size 133MB)

Comments 6

Google AdWords has an exciting new interface (or at least I’m excited about it!) and you can access it by clicking on the “New features” header link in your AdWords account. If for any reason you don’t like it, you can change back easily by clicking on the “Previous Interface” link at the top of the page.

The new interface is almost a Google Analytics / Google AdWords / AdWords Editor hybrid and it makes account information more transparent.

The first thing you’ll notice is the performance summary graphs on the campaign management page. You can customize, segment and filter the information to help you view trends over time immediately.

These are some of the other changes you’ll see:

  • New campaign workflow – you can now create your campaigns from the same place you’ll be managing them
  • Networks tab – providing better management of content network campaigns. You can view summary statistics as well as manage your placements
  • Dynamic Help – far better help content, it’s now dynamic and easier to access
  • You can now copy and move campaigns within the web interface, rather than having to switch to AdWords Editor
  • Similar to AdWords Editor, you can now view a tree menu of your campaigns, making it easier to switch between pay per click campaigns
  • Campaign roll-up tabs enable you to focus on the high-impact areas of your PPC campaigns
  • In-line editing means instead of loading a separate page, you can edit keywords, ads and bids directly in the tables of the campaign and ad group tabs (just hover)

The main thing I like about AdWords new interface is that it makes more information available at once. Your account data is clearly presented in a more visual and intuitive format.

Having the performance graphs makes it easier to see what’s going on and I expect to be able to make faster decisions with information more readily at my fingertips, rather than having to click deeper into the system to find what I need to know. I hope to see more of the Analytics-type data incorporated in the AdWords interface!

It’s also much easier to navigate and edit your campaigns, with borrowed features from AdWords Editor.

You can read more about the specific changes Google AdWords has made here.

Give the new interface a try, it might take some getting used to but I think it’ll make it faster and more easily actionable for all AdWords advertisers.

If you happen to be getting started in affiliate marketing, another new release you should check out is AffiloBlueprint, the flagship course by Mark Ling and the Affilorama team. You can read the full review and peak inside the course here.

Comments 3

This is an update to an earlier review I did on Google Cash Detective.

A few days ago I wrote a case study on using Google Cash Detective to find profitable keywords and ads to promote Clickbank products. Today I am going to show you a cool trick using GCD to uncover profitable CPA offers.

Finding that holy grail of the right CPA offer, the right ad and the right keywords is perhaps the most difficult art form to master.

Often times it’s a case of churning through hours of time, and worst of all money, to find anything that looks remotely workable.

With a little creative thinking and some GCD magic, we can now overcome a lot of these problems.

THE TRICK

The trick I came up with was using the CPA networks tracking URL and running the wildcard feature on GCD. By doing this, I could discover all of the CPA direct links in the GCD database. Check this out.

In this example I use the hydra tracking URL.

Google Cash Detective

As you can see it has shown me 1893 number of URL’s. Now check out some of the profitable keyword ad offer combination’s I found. This is just a tiny sample. :)

For each of the following examples, look out for the high search volume and the length of how long the ad has been running. Obviously, the higher the volume, the more conversions you can make. The longer the ad has been running, the more likely it is profitable.


THE EXAMPLES

A free lip balm sample.

Google Cash Detective




Another affiliate doing well with free lip balm samples, but via more general sample keywords.
Google Cash Detective



A Government auction offer.
Google Cash Detective



A home flipping offer.
Google Cash Detective



A pregnancy test offer.
Google Cash Detective



A free movie tickets zip offer.
Google Cash Detective



A colon cleanse offer with clever lateral keywords.
Google Cash Detective

Now it’s important to remember there are 25+ CPA networks you can use this tactic on, all with loads of new offers coming out every day. The GCD system crawls millions of keywords every day to serve up fresh data, so there is new opportunity appearing on the radar daily.


APPLYING THE TRICK

Here’s a strategy you could use. Find the offers, keywords and ad text using GCD that are currently working for someone. Then simply hunt around the different networks to find similar offers that you can direct link to.

This way you don’t even need to compete against the person you found using GCD. Just use all their data, and promote a similar offer on another network.

Many times the same offer is on multiple networks, so just use a different network with a different URL and you won’t have issues with the double serving problems you often encounter on Google.

If you’ve got a good relationship with your affiliate manager, you could hit them up for a different URL to use for the offer as well.

I reckon the savvy CPA marketer should be in here most days using this data to build their business. I’ve personally got a virtual assistant in GCD so far for about 20 hours this week extracting this intelligence for me. I recommend you do something similar.


THE GOOD NEWS – OFFSET THE COSTS

The bad news here is at the time of writing they are closing the doors to new members in about 48 hours.

The good news is that you can still pick up our bonuses to help leverage your time better and offset the cost of GCD.

To obtain these bonuses, then simply order through my affiliate link here.

Don’t forget to clear your cookies before you order otherwise we won’t get the credit and won’t be able to give you these important bonuses.

UPDATE – EXTRA BONUS 1: I have just added an extra bonus to sweeten the deal. I will share with you some more gold that my virtual assistant mined out using GCD.

UPDATE – EXTRA BONUS 2:I will also show you another similar method I’m using with GCD that I am not making public.

Here is a summary of my bonuses:

BONUS 1: 12 months access to the in-house Clickbank Mining tool I demonstrated in my original review. I guess if you price this at $99 a month, that’s around $1200 value. Not to mention the competitive advantage you’ll have because it’s not a public tool.

BONUS 2: A free SpeedPPC Affiliate Pro license to leverage your time further in creating perfectly structured PPC campaigns that will allow you to beat pretty much anyone at their direct linking game. This is $497 worth of real value.

BONUS 3: I’ll teach you a technique that we’re exploiting right now using SpeedPPC, the affiliate datafeed software included with SpeedPPC and direct linking. No-one is talking about this stuff. It’s cutting edge and I’ll share it with you. I don’t know what price to put on this. This information could be worth tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars in the right hands.

BONUS 4: I’ll send you some of the findings from my own research on Google Cash Detective so you can hit the ground running. This is especially helpful if you’re a newbie.

BONUS 5: I’ll also show you another similar trick that I’m not sharing with anyone other than my loyal bonus recipients.

Note: I’ll be sending the two extra bonuses to EVERYONE who has purchased through my affiliate link.

All you need to do is clear your cookies, and then click the link below immediately before purchasing. Then just forward me your receipt to jay (AT) speedppc.com to claim these bonuses.

CLICK HERE TO ORDER GCD AND OBTAIN ACCESS TO THESE BONUSES

UPDATE: At the time of writing, we’ve only got 19 of these bonus pack left. Don’t miss out.

If you have any questions, hit me in the comments below or via the email address above.

Comments 24


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